Un po‘ di nostalgia qua

Today is the 25th of June 2014 and I just can’ help but being a little super sentimental. Exactly one year ago I left my beloved Milano, IULM, la stanza 19, after two semesters and an early summer full of exciting new experiences and embarked for the final chapter of my big Italian adventure.
Today, one year ago, I finished my suitcases, took down the pictures above my bed and went downstairs to have my last caffè and cornetto at caffè Letterario; served by Nicola, the Sicilian barista with the piercing blue eyes and the nice culo or Domenico who was always making fun of my accent. I was the last Erasmus student to depart, same as I was the first one who arrived what seemed now a lifetime ago.

wall_milano

Though I usually tend to really long and tearful goodbyes, my Arrividerci for Milano was surprisingly brief – as I had to run to catch my train to Rome. (The one Italian habit I definitely adopted is always being 5 to 10 noble minutes late.) The extra slow Metro and my outstanding sprint to the Stazione Centrale still haunt my dreams, but I’ve finally made it. And only after I found my seat in the carriage and caught my breath I started to cry. Cry because I was sad to leave of course, but also because of my little heart overflowing with sheer gratefulness for all the friends and memories made – Unaware of the fact that yet another, oh-so different but still amazing tappa was going to top up my year in Italy.

That evening I arrived in Santa Marinella and joined CinemadaMare, the biggest gathering of young filmmakers. Not having yet fully recovered from leaving behind the place that means so many happy moments and knowing that even if I’ll ever return it won’t ever be the same and that it’s now all just in my our minds, I met new people, stroked beards and had conversations under the full moon.

Looking back now I have no idea how I survived that mess of feelings, but I did. And I’m grateful. I just want to thank all the people who made that year and all the summer that followed so special for me.

There’s always that one summer that changes you – whether it’s in Milano with some crazy girls from Malaga and Bask country, or on the road in Italy with the one guy who’s going to steal your heart. But that’s another story we shall hear some other day. 😉

A very sentimental

Angie, XX

One thought on “Un po‘ di nostalgia qua

Leave a Reply

