Sunday in the Park(s)

Today I woke up at 8:30(!) – well actually I got woken up by James who needed help bringing all his stuff from the cab to our flat. Having done my good deed of the day, I went right back to bed.
When I woke up for the second time, James had bought me breakfast and we spent a nice morning chatting about digital revolution, approachable online content and sourdough bread. 

In order to seize the day and make the most of the beautiful weather I set off for a lovely walk in the afternoon. The sun was shining as if she wanted to tell us: Never fear, Spring is coming! 🙂
I started off by crossing the Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park and walked past the ArcelorMittal Orbit. I have you to know, that Gonzo and me tried to have a walk in the Queen Elizabeth Park before – but we just never found it! 😛 As the park was only opened to public last April, some of the gates were still closed until very recently. And whenever we wanted to go there we simply never happened to come along an open one! So this was definitely a first!
The ArcelorMittal Orbit is another story. The unspeakable thing – I cannot imagine anyone remembering that name! In fact, I just call it The Rollercoaster, as that’s what it looks like – is a very modern sculpture and apparently an observation tower in the middle of the park. It’s quite funny to look at, as it’s bright red and, as said before, looks more like a ride from an amusement park than an observation tower. Anyway, I like the Archi-Thingy-Orbit; it always shows me that I’m close to home when I spot it from a night bus or the Overground.

Parks_Collage_I

I walked a little further until I reached River Lea Canal. To be honest, at this point I got a little lost. I know the City of London means very well by putting up those little columns with maps everywhere – but the maps are not §%&# oriented north!!! I really don’t get that! How is anyone supposed to find help by a map that faces a different point of the compass every time you look at it??
Ok, maybe it’s just me… anyway I got lost. But never mind, the weather was nice and I truly enjoyed the walk along the canal! When I finally reached Bow flyover I realised that this way I’d never reach Hackney Wick, so I walked all the way back and in the right direction.

Soon I reached Victoria Park, which apparently is the city’s oldest purpose-built park and also my actual destination of today. Unfortunately it got kinda cloudy and a nasty cold wind came up. Not so much spring any more, more like autumn. But the walk through the park was nice anyway. Slowly I strolled all the way down to the boating lake where I rewarded myself with a nice hot cup of tea in the Pavilion. Overlooking the lake I defrosted my fingers and braced myself for the homebound journey.

Parks_Collage_II

When I stepped out of the café it started drizzling though, so I made my way to the bus stop. And just as I jumped on the bus it started to rain fully and proved my theory: the weather in England definitely is bi-polar!
I got the front seat on the upper deck – and happy like a little kid I’d like to report that I count that as the cherry on top of my Sunday-adventure! 😀

Hope you had a good day too!

XX, Angie

Leave a Reply

