CDW 2015

Uff! Today’s my first free day after a long and exhausting but very good week!

Once more my internship allowed me to participate in a big design event in London, namely the Clerkenwell Design Week 2015.

Monday we spent the whole day in the office, prepared everything and got ready for a week of ‘field work’ and the rest of the week we spent on-site in Clerkenwell, as TOTO and Tania Johnson, two of the clients of Industry Publicity, were amongst the exhibitors.

I can’t say that I have a lot of experience with design shows and exhibitions, but I really liked what I’ve seen so far!
The locations of CDW were absolutely amazing: an old Victorian prison, a church, a crypt and an old warehouse have been transformed into exhibiting spaces and venues! My favourite was definitely the prison. The whole venue was underground. It’s entrance was small and almost hidden from the walkway, but as soon as you got down you literally entered a prison. The cells have been filled with the works of young designers, everything was lit and heated properly  and they even managed to install a small café in there, but as nice and creative it all was – it definitely creeped me out a little.

CDW_locations_Collage

I really enjoyed having a walk around and having a look at the work of the international designers. The exhibits ranged from furniture and lighting to homeware, wallpaper and rugs. Here are some works I liked particularly:

CDW_Collage

Falling chairs in slo-mo, a colourful pavilion that made the grey sky appear pink, artists that paint the wallpaper of their stand, creative lamps and flower-chandeliers, felt curtains  and DIY lamps…

Overall it was a really cool experience and I absolutely appreciate that Julienne and Emma took me along to CDW! Also now I feel like somehow I have a (hint of an) opinion on design. 🙂

yours very creatively,

Angie XX

see also:

www.clerkenwelldesignweek.com

 

Leave a Reply

