Summer 2015 stop #1: Italy and CinemadaMare

As you know, my first stop of this year’s summer travels was in the south of Italy, where I joined Gonzo and the CinemadaMare film festival.

For those of you who don’t know (but I guess by now everyone knows, as I am rambling about it all the time – so better skip the next part) CinemadaMare is an international film festival that takes you to a different village/town in Italy every week. But the truly amazing thing about CdM are the people. I mean, imagine: put 100 young filmmakrs from all around the world together, in Italy, with sunshine, mare, inflatable mattresses, pasta and gelato, good vibes and a bunch of crazy ideas and just let them work. Puff! That’s it. For me that works like magic! And that’s also why we went there already for the 3rd time! 😉

Anyway, so the first stop for me was Maratea. I am in love with this place! I love the mountains descending straight into the sea, the water that gets deep after just a couple of steps, the many stairs and colourful houses, and of course the big Jesus statue overlooking the valley from the mountain top. We actually hiked p all the way one night, with the full moon guiding our way and slept at Jesus’ toes – only to wake up to an amazing view and the bitter realization that we had to walk down again all the way 😛
Being super happy to be back, I directed and edited what is probably best called a little advertisement for Cdm. I also wrote a brief scrip for Gonzo that week, which he shot and made into an incredible piece about “life itself and how eventually you have to let go and jump”. He found an abandoned waterpark, and actually I only started writing after I’ve been there and enjoyed the amazing location!

Collage_1

The next stop was Guardia Perticara. I have a very special connection to that place, as we already stayed there the last two years and I’ve collected a bunch of very dear memories there. The village is tiny: there are two bars, one supermarket and not even a bancomat. But the people there are so friendly and helpful! Some even remembered our names from the previous years and asked us how we were doing in London!
That week I mainly worked on a script (which we couldn’t shoot eventually), did a lot of different make-ups for various productions (which I really enjoyed), helped to organize a last-minute-shoot (which we had to cancel because of a thunderstorm) and got “hired” as an editor for the first time in CdM (which was probably the best bit of the week!). I was working on the edit of found. by Dasha and Vera, two very talented girls from Russia. I did have a couple of editing lessons back at uni, but working on an actual project with all the pressure and the problems that come along was a really good experience which I enjoyed very much!

Collage_2

We stayed a couple of days in Muro Lucano and then moved on to Nova Siri, which again had the lovely benefit of a long and sandy beach! *yay* We stayed there for about 10 days – enough time to get tanned, relax, empirically test to find out the best gelateria in town and shoot a, if I may say so, very lovely and engaging short about love.
Sadly this was also the week Gonzo was leaving, as he had to go back to London for work. Well, so I stayed in charge to collect as much sunshine as possible for the both or us! 🙂
I was woking on Due (this week’s film) with Vera again. But this time we were co-directing. For me it was a complete new experience as until now I was mainly working together with Gonzo. But I think we did a very good job. Vera actually works as a photographer in “real life” so we had absolute fantastic shots! – The hardest part of the edit was to decide which shots not to take, as the whole material was absolutely great.

Collage_3

After spending so much time in the south of Italy, we made our way up to Vercelli. Well, I have to say it was a bit of a shock arriving in the north after several weeks traveling through Basilicata. The end of August was approaching and we could definitely feel that now. It just wasn’t a little southern seaside village anymore. However, we made the very best out of it. Vercelli, being an actual city, offered a lot of luxury, compare to the previous stops; such as a book shop, a cinema, launderettes and a big discounter in walking distance.
I initially planned to skip the stop, partially because of the very daunting descriptions I’ve heard and also because I wanted to go to Spain sooner. But as John Lennon once said very accurately: “Life is what happens while you are busy making other plans” – and so I stayed with CdM for one week longer. And I really don’t regret it! We had the most lovely week! We grew closer as a group, enjoyed the beautiful city of Vercelli, made a very pleasant day-trip to Arona, talked under the stars and over breakfast and eventually shot a most marvellous stop-motion video. Moonlight is a combination of the talents of Vera (photography), Alix (sound) and me (make-up and edit). I am very happy with the result, especially as I wanted to make a stop-motion all along, but was lacking the final idea until now.

That’s it. I left CinemadaMare on the 1st of September in order to go to Milano to see the Expo, but that’s an argument for another day!
I absolutely enjoyed taking part in CdM once again and I want to thank all the guys for that incredible experience! Grazie a tutti i cidiemmini 2015!!

(Sorry guys for that super long blog post. I totally messed up the less words-more images principle 😛 😉 )

XX, Angie

One thought on “Summer 2015 stop #1: Italy and CinemadaMare

  1. Pingback: I‘m back! | thelondonadventure

Leave a Reply

