Summer 2015 stop #2: EXPO

You have to know that seeing the Expo was on my to-do-list since I studied in Milano in 2013. They already launched the big marketing campaign and as part of that the flags of all the countries of the world were put up in the streets around the Duomo. I remember that we took lots of pictures and went in search of the flag of our countries.
And well, I can’t deny it: I am a very easy customer, these kind of things really work – so for me my time in Milano is very much connected with the anticipation of seeing the Expo. I might even say that finally getting to see it is somehow the (belated) cherry on top my Milano-Erasmus-experience.

Expo_Collage_IOk, so the day had finally arrived. Needless to say that I was super excited! I left CinemadaMare in Vercelli early in the morning and arrived in Milano around midday. Upon arrival I already had a massive Erasmus-flashback. After all, I haven’t been to my beloved Milano since I left about two years ago. ❤
I went to see the Expo all by myself and I have to say it was a very new and quite unique experience. I felt very free, as I could go wherever and do whatever I want, without consulting or discussing in group. Of course I misses the moments when you’d nudge your friend: “look there!” or “did you see that?”, but overall I really enjoyed it!

The theme of the Expo 2015 is Feeding the Planet, Energy for Life. It was structured in a way that the first pavilion you’d hit was the Pavilion Zero, where you see a general exhibition about the history and development of food processing, globalization and resources. Then you arrive on the main avenue, where the pavilions of the different nations are situated on the left and right.
I managed to see the pavilions of the Cocoa and Chocolate cluster (Cuba, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Camerun), the Coffee cluster (El Salvador, Kenya, Uganda, Dominican Republic), China, UK, Holland, Spain, Austria, USA, Turkey, Russia, Turkmenistan, Indonesia, Hungary, Argentina, the Spices cluster, Lithuania, Korea, Belgium, Nepal, Vietnam and Ecuador.

Expo_Collage_II

Some pavilions focused more on traditional exhibition (especially the smaller ones),some had creative technical gems or interactive features in their presentation and And Austria – oh well, Austria 🙂 The Austrian pavilion drew a little away from the main topic and highlighted the most important form of nourishment: air. To do so, they built a whole forest inside the pavilion. And with forest I mean proper forest: trees, moss, stones, leaves, that fresh and cool forest smell. When I entered all of a sudden I became super home sick. It’s funny, because I am never that home sick. I do miss home, but it usually never overcomes me so suddenly. But as I stood there, on what seemed home soil, breathing “home air” I just started to cry. It was a good feeling though. But I realized how much I miss home, mountains and nature sometimes.
All the pavilions were simply stunning! As mentioned before, the overall topic was food and nutrition, but every pavilion interpreted it differently. Some focused more on their country’s history, traditions and specialties, whereas others presented artwo
rk or scientific research.
Overall I think the biggest and most impressive trick I saw in many of the pavilions and was used in very many creative ways, was definitely projection mapping. Although I know how it works it simply blows my mind and for me it feels like a magic trick!

Of course all the pavilions had small cafes or restaurants on their site, offering traditional food. Funnily I spent most of the day hungry though, as I just couldn’t decide where to eat. I was always on the look-out for something even more exotic, so eventually I was absolutely starving and just had the next best thing: dutch meat balls. 😉

I am so happy that I finally went to see the Expo! Also, afterspending my summer with people from all over the world, like Russia, Indonesia, Kenya and Tanzania, knowing little or nothing about their countries, it just seemed the perfect cherry on top: travel around the world in 8 hours. 🙂 ❤

XX, Angie

www.expo2015.org
www.expoaustria.at

One thought on “Summer 2015 stop #2: EXPO

  1. Pingback: I‘m back! | thelondonadventure

Leave a Reply

