Austrian Sunday lunch

Today started off as super sunny and almost spring-ish – and so did my mood. But as the day proceeded, clouds appeared, wind set in and eventually it started to rain. But that’s ok.  I’m still in good humour. Because I’m used to it by now. (Did you hear me, London? I know you and Sunshine have some troubles, but don’t worry, it doesn’t bother me any more. Well, at least most of the time.) And also because Gonzo and me went out for a very special lunch today. We went to Kipferl near Portobello Road for Austrian Tapas. Yes, right. 🙂

Ok, now let me explain. The other week me and Isa discovered Kipferl, the Austrian café near Angel. And doing my homework afterwards, I found out that they have another Kneipe and Kitchen at Portobello, specialized in Austrian Tapas. Of course all the Spanish people in my life found the mere idea of tapas being Austrian hilarious, but after all it was just another reason to actually go there and try them.
And let me tell you, it was amazing. Basically by tapas they mean ‘little portions’. Which is genious, because so you can order different dishes and taste them all!

And here’s Gonzo and my Menu of the Day:

mains:

  • Steirischer Backhendlsalat (salad with mini Schnitzel in pumpkin seeds)
  • Mushroom Gulasch with Serviettenknödel (sliced bread dumpling)
  • Wiener Schnitzel with parsley potatoes and cranberry sauce

and for dessert:

  • Sachertorte (famous chocolate cake)
  • Marillen Palatschinken (pancakes with apricot jam)
  • accompanied by two Kleiner Brauner coffees

Guys, it was great! The waiter was a happy and chubby Austrian, the food was amazing and tasted like home, I had Almdudler (herb lemonade) and Gonzo finally believed me that soup with sliced pancakes is a thing (he read it on the menu). I am so full and happy now! I think that was one of the best Sunday lunches I had in a while! ❤

IMG_1778_IIIMG_1780_IIIMG_1785_II

We finished our afternoon with a walk in Portobello Road, shopping at the Spanish supermarket (to compensate the overdose of Austrian-ness, I suppose) and then made our way back home, trough wind and rain.

I hope you had an equally wonderful and tasty (hopefully less windy!) Sunday!
XX, Angie

http://www.kipferl.co.uk

Leave a Reply

