Edinburgh, finally.

Edinburgh was always on top of my list, basically ever since I first came to the UK. And well, it just never happened. We were always busy, lazy, penniless, whatever. But as time went by, more and more people I know went there and everyone came back and said it was beautiful. And I wanted to go and see it myself even more!

And I guess by now I’ve been whining long enough, because when it turned out that we couldn’t follow the invitation to Napoli over Easter (Gonzo had to go on a shooting trip right after), he suggested we’d go to Edinburgh! *yay*

I really wanted to take the train to go up north, as I really like that laid-back form of traveling. It was very beautiful to look out of the window and see the landscape change. We went trough rain and sunshine and from Berwick-upon-Tweed, the train ran along the seaside. I loved it!

Once in Edinburgh, the weather was crazy. One day it was sunny but super windy and the next day it was raining like it seems to be possible only in Scotland. But nevertheless we had a really good time. We stayed in a lovely Bed and Breakfast a little out of the centre, where we had a room under the roof and the landlady cooked Full Scottish Breakfast for us. “It’s like Full English – but we are in Scotland, so it’s Scottish.”

We did all the touristic things: visit the Castle (with a guide that was probably hired because his accent was a sight on its own), had tea in little cafes, took loads of pictures, walked in narrow streets with colourful houses, spent an afternoon on the beach (the only day it was actually sunny), saw the botanic garden, had dinner where J.K. Rowling wrote Harry Potter (very iconic!), saw a film in Tarantino’s favourite cinema (Batman vs Superman, to be precise), climbed Calton Hill, got lost in second-hand book shops, ate Haggis and deep-fried Mars bars (apparently super-Scottish), dried our shoes and had some more tea, wrote postcards and relaxed.

As Gonzo put me in charge of all the daily touristic organisation, I made sure we saw all the important bits of the city. But on the other hand, we also had a very good time relaxing and just enjoying the fact of being away from London, the hustle, stress and noise. The four days we’ve been there, I felt really far away from London; not only geographically, but it also seemed really out of my mind.

I enjoyed being in a small city, where you can walk everywhere and the people actually seem to have the time to talk to you. And with the big fortress watching over the city and all the small streets and alleys winding around it, it actually reminded me a lot of Salzburg.

And it was beautiful.

XX, Angie

One thought on “Edinburgh, finally.

  1. Pingback: Arabian Nights | offtonewshores

Leave a Reply

