Roman Advent Adventures

Even being far from home, I try to maintain Austrian christmas and advent traditions, such as making an Adventkranz (advent wreath) and baking cookies.

For the past couple of years I successfully managed to create a round construct with four candles at all the flats I’ve lived in – and had to explain it’s meaning and purpose more than once.
This year though I decided to wouldn’t make one – mainly for the more practical reason that our flat is rather small and honestly there’s no space to put a “space-occupying candle-stuffed” object other than the kitchen table, which in fact is already overloaded with stuff that doesn’t necessarily belong on a kitchen table. So you get my point, right? Also, I’m gonna spend one weekend of advent in Sicily and on the 22nd I’ll depart to Austria anyway… So I figured I would be better this way.
KerzenII.jpgBut I actally really miss it! :/ I miss the peacefulness that lies in lighting a candle every Sunday until Christmas and I realized that I like having an Adventkranz around, as kind of a visual reminder that it’s advent and that actually you are supposed to calm down your crazy life, which we mostly forget these days to be honest.

Well, as I couldn’t do without any candles at all, I got this nifty advent-calendar-candle as a substitute, and some really amazing christmassy scented candles from Muji – so at least I’ll be lighting candles. And next year there’s gonna be an advent wreath, no matter where I’ll be or the conditions of the flat, I promise!

I hope you have a clam and peaceful advent!

XX, Angie

Leave a Reply

