In Erice…

I guess by now you know that each summer for the past four yeas, Gonzo and me spent traveling trough Italy with this amazing film festival for young filmmakers called CinemadaMare. Now, CdM holds an event every winter called “Waiting for CdM” where they invite filmmakers who have previously participated and evaluated the past summer, hold workshops, plan new projects and enjoy being together. Usually only Italians are invited, as otherwise it would simply be too difficult to organise: but hey, I live in Italy now too!

So when I got the official invitation-text message, I cheekily replied with “I’m in, and Gonzo too!” – So they had no choice! 😉

This year the “Waiting” was held in Erice in Sicily, where last summer Gonzo and me shot one of our loveliest movies and where I have a lot of very nice memories.

Last Wednesday Gonzo flew in from London and on Friday, at four in the morning (!) we met up with the other choosen guys at Termini station, had cornetto stuffed with nutella to kickstart our energies and then we all took the plane to Trapani together. Everything was organized for us and it basically felt like one big school trip!

Erice is a beautiful little world heritage village at the top of a (or perhaps the only?) mountain in the very south of Sicily, overlooking the sea. Did I say that it’s beautiful? Because it definitely is!
It was absolutely lovely weather all weekend long, but also absolutely freezing! I have no idea how the Italians do it, but I think I was constantly cold, even in the youth hostel. I guess the heating in our room was just there for decoration…

Anyway, we had a good time! We ate so much! I think we ate more than we worked! Every day we had freshly baked cornetti for breakfast (with Viennese coffee!) and a three course lunch, one night the local gastronomy school cooked a seven course gala dinner for us and the local pizzeria offered us a special deal – you get me, right?

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

It was nice to have a little pre-Christmas get-away with Gonzo and all our friends who are usually filed as “summer” in our brains.

It was funny thought to see the cobblestone streets, overlooking the sea, decorated in christmas lights and a massive futuristic Christmas tree on the main piazza – in a place that means “summer, gelato, cannoli and holiday” to me. Now I’m ready for a proper snowy, mountain-y and Austrian Christmas!

XX, Angie

Leave a Reply

