Here’s to the dreamers

What a better way is there to spend a Saturday afternoon that in the cinema?

I went to see the matinee show of La La Land today – and I’m over the moon! I am completely in love with the movie! The obvious reasons are: it’s a musical, the camerawork is great, it has an amazing and super vibrant colour palette and it stars Ryan Gosling 😉
No, seriously:

Yes, they sing. But I felt like it was never out of context. Singing as a natural way of expressing oneself is established normal right at the beginning of the film. It’s a world where they sing. I think one has to make the effort and see it as kind of a “parallel world” where singing and dancing is normal, and everything makes total sense. –  Does that make sense?

The story itself is rather simple: it’s two artists struggling with life and everything that comes with it. I am far from calling myself an artist, but I think in all the years dealing with directors, actors and producing short films, I got a bit of an insight. Basically, it feels real to me. Of course the drama level is a bit up, otherwise there wouldn’t be a Hollywood movie, but the characters are well developed and the script has some nice “that could happen to us”-moments. And I’m not talking about the scene where they dance a waltz in the clouds…

I liked how despite it begin a colourful musical, it ends on a bittersweet note and makes you think about life and the choices you make. Even though many of my friends hated the ending, I think it’s one of the best bits of the film. And isn’t there anything worse that coming out of a film and going: “meh, it was ok.”? Well, the finale definitely prevents that. And I like myself a proper after-movie discussion!

IMG_8771.jpg

Lo Lo Love,
Angie

2 thoughts on “Here’s to the dreamers

Leave a Reply

