Sunday at the Museo di Roma

Today was the perfect museum weather: rainy and grey with the clouds hanging low and as it was the first Sunday of the month entrance to all city-run museums was free. So we decided to visit the Mueso di Roma, at Palazzo Braschi.

The collection of the museum is absolutely huge, so we joined a guided tour focused on Baroque paintings. Unfortunately I am quite illiterate when it comes to the classic arts. I mean, I enjoy looking at paintings and sculptures, it’s just that I understand rather little of it. So when the lovely lady talked about centuries, painters and techniques I didn’t understand much. But the paintings we saw were fascinating and I know that Caravaggio is an important name 😉
I really enjoyed walking through the beautiful palace, admiring not only the artworks, but also the rooms, painted ceilings and grand staircases. I felt a bit like a princess in an enchanted castle – surrounded by Japanese and Spanish tourists that compete to take selfies with famous paintings.

Museum_Collage.jpg

I did learn a lot about art though and felt very sophisticated when I left. I finished my lovely Sunday with a stroll to Piazza di Spagna and  Via del Corso.

Hope you had a good Sunday too,
XX, a very cultivated Angie

http://www.museodiroma.it

Leave a Reply

